The American Rescue Plan

Find out what it means for our region

Foothills Regional Commission

Fostering REgional Collaboration

For Cleveland, McDowell, Polk and Rutherford Counties in Western North Carolina

Area Agency
on Aging

Community & Economic




Foothills Regional Commission is the council of governments for the Isothermal Region which includes Cleveland, McDowell, Polk and Rutherford Counties in Western North Carolina. The membership of the Commission consists of the local governments within the Isothermal Region.

The Commission serves its members and their citizens by fostering regional collaboration and providing professional and technical expertise. The Commission houses the region’s Area Agency on AgingHousing ProgramsRural Planning OrganizationWorkforce Development Board and provides services through its Economic & Community Development and Workforce Development programs and Technical Assistance programs. For more information, check out our About page!

Latest News & Information

SUBSCRIBE to our newsletter here

FRC Newsletter, May 25, 2023

Exciting wins, funding opportunities for STEM Programming and Infrastructure Projects, and more! Catch up on all of this in the latest FRC newsletter, available here.

Read More »