

# Foothills Rural Planning Organization Transportation Coordinating Committee (TAC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: March 14, 2023 Location: Rutherford County Administration Building, 289 N Main Street, Rutherfordton, NC

NC			
Jurisdiction	TAC Representative	Present	
Rutherford County	Michael Benfield	$\boxtimes$	
Rutherfordton	Jimmy Dancy (Chair)	$\boxtimes$	
Forest City	Steve Holland		
Spindale	Rosaleen Francis		
Lake Lure	Carol Pritchett	$\boxtimes$	
Chimney Rock	Vacant		
McDowell County	Vacant		
Marion	Woody Ayers	$\boxtimes$	
Polk County	David Moore		
Tryon	Bill Ingham		
Columbus	Brent Jackson		
Saluda	Tangela Morgan	$\boxtimes$	
Board of Transportation, Division 14	Dirk Cody		
Board of Transportation, Division 13	William Clarke		
	Total Members Present:	5	
Representing	Name		
Foothills Regional Commission	Alan Toney	$\boxtimes$	
Foothills Regional Commission	Izzy Norman	$\boxtimes$	

Foothills Regional Commission	Katelyn Smith	$\boxtimes$
Foothills Regional Commission	Danna Stansbury	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jerry Stensland	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jordan Barnes	
Foothills Regional Commission	Benjamin Bordeaux	
NCDOT Division 14	Wanda Austin	
NCDOT Division 14	Steve Williams	
NCDOT Division 14	Troy Wilson	
NCDOT TPD	James Upchurch	$\boxtimes$
NCDOT Division 13	Dustin Riddle	
NCDOT Division 13	Steve Cannon	
NCDOT Division 13	Stephen Sparks	
NCDOT Division 13	Hannah Cook	
NCDOT Division 13	Tim Anderson	$\boxtimes$

### Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Introductions: Chairman Jimmy Dancy called the meeting to order at 1:15 pm. Dancy determined a quorum was present.
- 2. Ethics reminder from Jimmy Dancy.
- 3. The agenda was approved with the modification of an additional informational item for TPD updates from James Upchurch. The vote was unanimous.

**Motion: Carol Pritchett** 

2<sup>nd</sup>: Michael Benfield

4. No public comment.

#### Action Items

5. TAC Minutes from 1-10-23 were approved as submitted. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Woody Ayers

2<sup>nd</sup>: Carol Pritchett

6. Katelyn Smith and Alan Toney reviewed Carbon Reduction applications with TAC. Vote to submit applications in the order as follows: Rutherfordton US 74 roundabout as first, Polk 108 roundabout as second, and Rutherfordton EV Pilot Program as third. Vote was unanimous.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Carol Pritchett

#### Informational Items:

- 7. Alan Toney gave members a reminder about completing SEI.
- 8. Hannah Cook gave project and construction updates for NCDOT Division 13.
- 9. Steve Williams from NCDOT Division 14 gave construction and timeline updates.
- 10. Alan Toney gave updates regarding prioritization 7 and future meetings.
- 11. James Upchurch provided TPD updates and upcoming training dates.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

Chairman Dancy adjourned the meeting at 1:50 pm.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Carol Pritchett