

Foothills Rural Planning Organization Transportation Coordinating Committee (TCC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: March 14, 2023 Location: Rutherford County Administration Building, 289 N Main Street, Rutherfordton, NC

NC			
Jurisdiction	TCC Representative	Present	
Rutherford County	Steve Garrison (Aubrey Clay)		
Rutherford County Transit	Kerry Giles		
Rutherfordton	Doug Barrick	\boxtimes	
Forest City	Janet Mason (Bryce Carter)	\boxtimes	
Spindale	Scott Webber		
McDowell County	Ronald Harmon	\boxtimes	
Marion	Bob Boyette	\boxtimes	
Polk County	Marche Pittman (Cathy Ruth)	\boxtimes	
Columbus	Tim Barth		
Saluda	Steven Orr		
Polk County Transit	Joshua Kennedy		
McDowell County Transit			
Tryon	Tim Daniels		
	Total Members Present:	8	
Representing	Name		
Foothills Regional Commission	Alan Toney		
Foothills Regional Commission	Izzy Norman		
Foothills Regional Commission	Katelyn Smith		

Foothills Regional Commission	Danna Stansbury	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jerry Stensland	×
Foothills Regional Commission	Jordan Barnes	
Foothills Regional Commission	Benjamin Bordeaux	
NCDOT Division 14	Wanda Austin	
NCDOT Division 14	Steve Williams	⊠
NCDOT Division 14	Troy Wilson	⊠
NCDOT Division 14	Rusty Darnell	⊠
NCDOT Division 14	Ed Green	⊠
NCDOT TPD	James Upchurch	×
NCDOT Division 13	Dustin Riddle	
NCDOT Division 13	Steve Cannon	
NCDOT Division 13	Stephen Sparks	⊠
NCDOT Division 13	Hannah Cook	

Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Introductions: Chairman Bob Boyette called the meeting to order at 10:30 am.
- 2. The agenda was approved with the modification of an additional informational item for TPD updates from James Upchurch. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Scott Webber

3. No public comment.

Action Items

4. TCC Minutes from 1-10-23 were approved as submitted. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Marche Pittman

5. Katelyn Smith and Alan Toney reviewed Carbon Reduction applications with TCC. Vote to submit applications in the order as follows: Rutherfordton US 74 roundabout as first, Polk 108 roundabout as second, and Rutherfordton EV Pilot Program as third. Vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Marche Pittman

6. Vote to ensure existing CRP projects be moved up in priority during the next round barring other funding becoming available. Submission would be Polk 108 roundabout as first and Rutherfordton EV Pilot Program as second. Vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Marche Pittman

Informational Items:

- 7. Hannah Cook gave an update on projects development and active construction for McDowell and Rutherford Counties.
- 8. Steve Williams from NCDOT Division 14 gave construction and timeline updates.
- 9. Jerry Stensland gave an overview of the Multimodal Planning Grant and a call for projects.
- 10. Alan Toney gave updates regarding prioritization 7 and future meetings.
- 11. James Upchurch provided TPD updates and upcoming training dates.

Adjournment

Chairman Boyette adjourned the meeting at 11:15 am.

Motion: Marche Pittman

2nd: Doug Barrick