

# Foothills Rural Planning Organization Transportation Coordinating Committee (TAC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: May 9, 2023

**Location: Rutherford County Administration Building, 289 N Main Street, Rutherfordton, NC** 

| Jurisdiction                         | TAC Representative        | Present     |
|--------------------------------------|---------------------------|-------------|
| Rutherford County                    | Michael Benfield          |             |
| Rutherfordton                        | Jimmy Dancy (Chair)       |             |
| Forest City                          | Steve Holland             |             |
| Spindale                             | Rosaleen Francis          |             |
| Lake Lure                            | Carol Pritchett           |             |
| Chimney Rock                         | Vacant                    |             |
| McDowell County                      | Vacant                    |             |
| Marion                               | Woody Ayers               | $\boxtimes$ |
| Polk County                          | David Moore               |             |
| Tryon                                | Bill Ingham               |             |
| Columbus                             | Brent Jackson             |             |
| Saluda                               | Tangela Morgan            |             |
| Board of Transportation, Division 14 | Dirk Cody (Chuck McGrady) |             |
| Board of Transportation, Division 13 | William Clarke            |             |
|                                      | Total Members Present:    | 5           |
| Representing                         | Name                      |             |
| Foothills Regional Commission        | Alan Toney                |             |
| Foothills Regional Commission        | Izzy Norman               |             |
| ·                                    |                           |             |

| Foothills Regional Commission | Katelyn Smith     | $\boxtimes$ |
|-------------------------------|-------------------|-------------|
| Foothills Regional Commission | Danna Stansbury   |             |
| Foothills Regional Commission | Jerry Stensland   |             |
| Foothills Regional Commission | Jordan Barnes     |             |
| Foothills Regional Commission | Benjamin Bordeaux |             |
| NCDOT Division 14             | Wanda Austin      |             |
| NCDOT Division 14             | Steve Williams    |             |
| NCDOT Division 14             | Troy Wilson       |             |
| NCDOT TPD                     | Andy Bailey       | $\boxtimes$ |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Dustin Riddle     |             |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Steve Cannon      |             |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Stephen Sparks    | $\boxtimes$ |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Hannah Cook       | $\boxtimes$ |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Tim Anderson      |             |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Coates McCray     | ×           |
| NCDOT Division 13             | Gabriel Johnson   | $\boxtimes$ |

### Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Introductions: Chairman Jimmy Dancy called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm. Dancy determined a quorum was present.
- 2. Ethics reminder from Jimmy Dancy.
- 3. The agenda was approved with the modification of an additional informational item for TPD updates from Andy Bailey. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Steve Holland

4. No public comment.

#### **Action Items**

5. TAC Minutes from 3-14-23 were approved as submitted. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Woody Ayers

6. The FY 24 Planning Work Program PWP was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Steve Holland

2<sup>nd</sup>: Michael Benfield

1. The vote to include a seat for Old Fort in the RPO was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Woody Ayers

1. The Comprehensive Transportation Plan (CTP) was approved for adoption. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Bill Ingham

2<sup>nd</sup>: Michael Benfield

#### **Informational Items:**

- 7. Alan Toney gave members a reminder about completing SEI.
- 8. Hannah Cook gave project and construction updates for NCDOT Division 13.
- 9. Steve Williams from NCDOT Division 14 gave construction and timeline updates.

- 10. Katelyn Smith gave updates regarding prioritization 7.
- 11. Andy Bailey provided TPD updates, mentioned Peak Annual Traffic Project, and Safe Streets for All Grant Opportunity.

## **Adjournment**

Chairman Dancy adjourned the meeting at 1:42 pm.

Motion: Michael Benfield

2<sup>nd</sup>: Steve Holland