

Foothills Rural Planning Organization Transportation Coordinating Committee (TCC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: May 9, 2023

Location: Rutherford County Administration Building, 289 N Main Street, Rutherfordton, NC

Jurisdiction	TCC Representative	Present
Rutherford County	Steve Garrison (Aubrey Clay)	
Rutherford County Transit	Kerry Giles	
Rutherfordton	Doug Barrick	\boxtimes
Forest City	Janet Mason (Bryce Carter)	
Spindale	Scott Webber	
McDowell County	Ronald Harmon	\boxtimes
Marion	Bob Boyette	\boxtimes
Polk County	Marche Pittman (Cathy Ruth)	\boxtimes
Columbus	Tim Barth	
Saluda	Steven Orr	
Polk County Transit	Joshua Kennedy	
McDowell County Transit		
Tryon	Tim Daniels	\boxtimes
NCDOT DIvision 13 Representative	Hannah Cook	
NCDOT Division 14 Representative	Steve Williams	
Lake Lure	Hank Perkins	\boxtimes
	Total Members Present:	9
Representing	Name	

Jurisdiction	TCC Representative	Present
Rutherford County	Steve Garrison (Aubrey Clay)	
Rutherford County Transit	Kerry Giles	
Foothills Regional Commission	Alan Toney	
Foothills Regional Commission	Izzy Norman	
Foothills Regional Commission	Katelyn Smith	
Foothills Regional Commission	Danna Stansbury	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jerry Stensland	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jordan Barnes	
Foothills Regional Commission	Benjamin Bordeaux	
NCDOT Division 14	Wanda Austin	
NCDOT Division 14	Troy Wilson	
NCDOT Division 14	Rusty Darnell	
NCDOT Division 14	Ed Green	
NCDOT TPD	Andy Bailey	
NCDOT Division 13	Dustin Riddle	
NCDOT Division 13	Steve Cannon	
NCDOT Division 13	Stephen Sparks	
NCDOT Division 13	Coates McCray	
NCDOT Division 13 - Project Manager	Gabriel Johnson	

Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Introductions: Chairman Bob Boyette called the meeting to order at 10:40 am. additional
- 2. The agenda was approved with the modification of two informational items for TPD and the Peavine Trail Connection updates. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Tim Daniels

3. No public comment.

Action Items

4. TCC Minutes from 3-14-23 were approved as submitted. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Hank Perkins

2nd: Doug Barrick

5. The FY 24 Planning Work Program PWP was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Hank Perkins

2nd: Doug Barrick

6. The vote to include a seat for Old Fort in the RPO was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Hank Perkins

7. The Comprehensive Transportation Plan (CTP) was approved for adoption. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Tim Daniels

Informational Items:

- 8. Hannah Cook gave an update on projects development and active construction for McDowell and Rutherford Counties.
- 9. Steve Williams from NCDOT Division 14 gave construction and timeline updates.
- 10. Katelyn Smith gave Prioritization 7 updates.

- 11. Andy Bailey provided TPD updates, mentioned Peak Annual Traffic Project, and Safe Streets for All Grant Opportunity.
- 12. Jerry Stensland provided updates on the Peavine Trail project.

Adjournment

Chairman Boyette adjourned the meeting at 11:27 am.

Motion: Doug Barrick

2nd: Hannah Cook