

Foothills Rural Planning Organization Transportation Coordinating Committee (TCC) & Transportation Coordinating Committee (TAC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: July 11, 2023

Location: Rutherford County Administration Building, 289 N Main Street, Rutherfordton,

NC

Jurisdiction	TCC Representative	Present
Rutherford County	Steve Garrison (Aubrey Clay)	
Rutherford County Transit	Kerry Giles	
Rutherfordton	Doug Barrick	
Forest City	Janet Mason (Preston Janco)	
Spindale	Scott Webber	
McDowell County	Ronald Harmon (rep in place)	
Marion	Bob Boyette	
Polk County	Marche Pittman (Cathy Ruth)	
Columbus	Tim Barth	
Saluda	Steven Orr	
Polk County Transit	Joshua Kennedy	
McDowell County Transit	Jason Hollifield	
Tryon	Tim Daniels	
NCDOT DIvision 13 Representative	Hannah Cook	⊠
NCDOT Division 14 Representative	Steve Williams	⊠
Lake Lure	Hank Perkins	
	Total Members Present:	11

Jurisdiction	TAC Representative	Present
Rutherford County	Michael Benfield	
Rutherfordton	Jimmy Dancy (Chair)	
Forest City	Steve Holland	
Spindale	Rosaleen Francis	
Lake Lure	Carol Pritchett	
Chimney Rock	Vacant	
McDowell County	Vacant	
Marion	Woody Ayers	
Polk County	Vacant	
Tryon	Bill Ingham	
Columbus	Brent Jackson	\boxtimes
Saluda	Vacant	
Board of Transportation, Division 14	Dirk Cody (Chuck McGrady)	\boxtimes
Board of Transportation, Division 13	William Clarke	
	Total Members Present:	4

Representing	Name	
Foothills Regional Commission	Alan Toney	
Foothills Regional Commission	Katelyn Smith	
Foothills Regional Commission	Danna Stansbury	\boxtimes
Foothills Regional Commission	Jerry Stensland	
Foothills Regional Commission	Jordan Barnes	
Foothills Regional Commission	Benjamin Bordeaux	
NCDOT Division 14	Wanda Austin	
NCDOT Division 14	Troy Wilson	
NCDOT Division 14	Steve Williams	
NCDOT Division 14	Ed Green	
NCDOT TPD	James Upchurch	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 13	Dustin Riddle	
NCDOT Division 13	Steve Cannon	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 13	Stephen Sparks	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 13	Hannah Cook	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 13	Coates McCray	
NCDOT Division 13 - Project Manager	Gabriel Johnson	

Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Introductions: Chairman Jimmy Dancy called the meeting to order at 10:45 am. Dancy determined a quorum was present.
- 2. The agenda was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Carol Pritchett

2nd: Tim Barth

3. No public comment.

Action Items

4. TAC & TCC Minutes from 5-9-23 were approved as submitted. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Carol Pritchett

2nd: Chuck McGrady

5. The amended FY 24 Planning Work Program PWP was approved. The vote was unanimous.

Motion: Chuck McGrady

2nd: Carol Pritchett

Informational Items:

- 6. Katelyn Smith reviewed the Prioritization 7 projects for each county. There was a note to receive a resolution of support from each township for project submittals.
- 7. Hannah Cook gave project and construction updates for NCDOT Division 13.
- 8. Steve Williams from NCDOT Division 14 gave construction and timeline updates.
- 9. James Upchurch provided TPD updates.
- 10. Jerry Stensland gave updates on SPR's and the Safe Streets for All grant.

Adjournment

Chairman Dancy adjourned the meeting at 11:50 am.

Motion: Carol Pritchett

2nd: Chuck McGrady